Who We Are

(for E.J Hart)

Don’t you sometimes wonder
Who we are?

I don’t mean genus
Homo Sapiens
Descended from
Homo Erectus,
The hominid,
And ultimately a
Spontaenous
Utterly serendipitous
Coming together of
Space dust
And light

No.
I mean
Who we
Really
Are.

Like when I look into the eyes
Of a random stranger
Or a baby in a buggy
I feel it is more than just
Space dust recognising its own
Or the basic biological processes
Of my hominid brain

I see something else.
Something which
In our modern science,
Only quantum theorists
Come close to describing

A thing unfathomable;
Infinite
Unbounded by space or time
Where ends are but beginings
And left becomes right

I see a recognition of the same
Infinite soul
In that baby
In that stranger
In me.

And the smile –
Unnecessary,
Utterly altruistic and beautiful,
Is our swimming
For an instant
In eternal rockpools of
Turquoise and light.

Frolicking;
Like the eternal children
Which –
I think –
Is
Who
We
Really
Are

Leave a Reply

